Gluten-Free Oatmeal And Fruit Cookies

I’m so proud of myself… I think my baking may be improving! I think part of it is that I’m finally understanding things like the difference between and importance of baking powder and baking soda. And I’m learning that, while it’s okay to tweak baking recipes somewhat, there are basic cornerstones to the recipe (and its directions) that you can’t mess with.

I made these the other day and they are YUM! I don’t like to use a ton of white sugar and butter so I replaced those with alternative ingredients, and I also used Eggbeaters instead of real egg to cut down on the cholesterol… but that’s up to you.

gfOatmealCookies

I sometimes like to cut back on using one whole cup of the baking mix since it has white sugar, but that’s up to you, too, since rice flour can get gritty.  If you want to try this, just use 2/3  cup of the baking mix  plus 1/3 cup of rice flour. I wouldn’t go more than that ratio, as I tried one batch the next day as half and half and the cookies had this weird sandy texture.

Enjoy!

Makes 12 or so small to medium sized soft cookies

1/2 cup real butter, soy butter, or Earth Balance Dairy-free spread (which is what I used), a bit softened

1 C packed brown sugar

1 egg or 1/3 cup cholesterol-free Egg Beaters

3 Tbsp applesauce

1/4 C dried cranberries

1/4 C  raisins

2 tsp ground cinnamon

1 C gluten-free baking mix ( I like Bisquick Baking Mix but you can also use GF Sugar Cookie Mix … it’s generally a blend of flours like rice, tapioca, and potato, with xantham gum and maybe sugar added. Double-check the dairy content if you can’t have dairy.)

1/2 tsp baking soda

A few grinds or about 1/4 tsp sea salt

1 and 1/2 C quick cooking oats

In large bowl, cream together soy butter, sugar, cinnamon, applesauce, and dried fruit ( no special equipment needed, I did this by hand). Beat in egg.  In another bowl, mix together flour(s), salt, and baking soda. Stir into buttery sugary mixture and mix well. Stir in oats and blend well.

Preheat oven to 375 and chill the dough for 10-15 minutes to help it firm up.

When oven is ready, form dough into walnut sized balls and  place 2 inches apart on greased baking sheet. Gently press flat with a spatula.

Bake for 8-10 minutes.  Check after ten, if they are still kind of squishy, throw in for another 1-2 minutes.

Cool 10 minutes and enjoy!

One response

Leave a Reply

