WTF Polenta? Recipes

Polenta is one of those things I see on menus and The Food Network from time to time, and I’ve always been kind of attracted to the idea of trying it but never did anything proactive about it or researched it.

Last week, I spotted some at the market, in one of those rolls, and threw it into my cart on a whim, but when I read it later on at home, the only instructions were to “heat and eat.” Really? This big squishy roll of yellow stuff?  WTF?

Turns out, you can also buy it boxed. You can buy it quick-cook or slow-cook. It ‘s Fat Free, Gluten Free, Vegetarian, and has a 9 month shelf life. So as far as ideal foods go, maybe I should get to know it a little better.

I mined my social network for some recipes, and here’s what I got. I guess you ARE supposed to eat it runny and heated up, but it’s meant as a side and good with additional flavors. Enjoy!

Polenta Corn Cakes and Buttered Polenta, both by Wicked Hailey 

If you do have the quick rolled kind, you can fry that up into corn cakes, kind of like Hush Puppies… maybe add a little manchanga cheese to it and poof… amazingness!

My buttered polenta is kick ass and goes well with BBQ. You can’t use the Quick Cook kind though! Here it is:

  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons sea salt (i like to try different sea salts in this like grey)
  • 1 cup polenta
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 5 cups water

Bring water, oil, and sea salt to a boil in a 4-quart heavy pot, then add polenta in a slow stream, whisking. Cook over moderate heat, whisking, 2 minutes. Reduce heat to low and cook at a bare simmer, uncovered, stirring frequently, 45 minutes. Remove from heat, then add butter and stir until mixed well.

Mozzarella and Basil Polenta: By  Katty Delux,Chronicles Of A Sweet Tooth

  • Slice it up and put on the grill. Grill 5-10 minutes, turning once
  • Top with warm marinara, basil, and cheese.
  • Heat under the broiler 5-7 minutes until browned and you have a yummy side dish
  • And lastly, I found an awesomely simple recipe with cherry tomatoes in this month’s issue of Bon Appetit, which I will try tonight in honor of what I now call National Polenta Day …At My House, Anyway.

    image

    (Update: This is how mine turned out…I made a cross between Katty’s and the one from Bon Appetit… with a few adjustments here and there of my own!)

    image

    cooking

    Leave a Reply

    