Bexie B – Cross-Stitching The Zombie Apocolypse in Kansas

Do you like Zombies? Gaming Geekery? What about cross-stitch? If you do, you need to know more about Bexie B!

Bex by Vixen Pinup Photography, KC MO

Tell us about yourself!

I’m known as Bex of Bexie B Creations.  I am a stay-at-home mom to one human and three canine babies. I also cook, bake, and make  video game and B-movie cross-stitch designs.

Zombie Love by Bexie B Creations

That sounds awesome! I want one! How did you get started cross-stitching?

In 2010 I had to resign from my position as an archivist because of my health issues. This freed up some of my time to expand and experiment with embroidery and cross-stitching. Along with geek themes, I also do art therapy pieces that express more serious things going on in my life. Cross-stitching is extremely therapeutic!

This is My Boomstick- By Bexie B

Who in your artistic community are you inspired by?

I love to visit my friend Pam’s blog for cocktail recipes and fun craft ideas. I also browse  Craftser for tutorials and inspiration for just about any project.

What brings you joy and pride in your life?

First, I am ecstatic to have my daughter Elsa, born in 2011. Secondly,  I work every day to balance taking care of my family with my artistic projects while dealing with autoimmune disease and chronic pain disorders.  I was very fortunate to have two of my cross-stitch pieces displayed at art shows in 2011.

I love to cook and bake. I make it a point to try a new recipe each week. My favorites are lighter versions of comfort foods because they remind me of home, but without all the calories!

Finally, I’m proud to volunteer at an assisted living facility with my dog, Patton. I think it’s important for my daughter to grow up seeing her parents give back to the community.

Bex and Baby Elsa

What projects are you working on lately?

I’m focusing more on my cross-stitching this summer and plan to have kits available for sale in my Etsy store. My husband and I are also working on a blog about co-operative video games for couples. We plan to go live on that in July 2012.

Where can we find you online?

Bexie B Stitching Blog

Bexie B Creations on Facebook

Bexie B on Etsy

We Geek Together – Couple’s Gaming Blog (7/2012)

Twitter: @ndbex

Pinterest

Bex, Baby-Ready! by Vixen Pinup Photography, KC MO

Got any tasty recipes to share with us?

This is a new cake I adapted from a Taste of Home recipe, originally called Hawaiian Wedding Cake. But instead of using a yellow cake mix and pineapple, I took out the fruit and loaded it with chocolate.

Bex’s Chocoholic Cake

Bex’s Chocoholic Cake

Makes 12 one-piece servings, each serving has 323 calories and 9 grams of fat.

  • 1 box Devil’s Food chocolate cake mix
  • 1 ¼ cup buttermilk*
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 egg
  • 8 oz (1 pkg) reduced-fat cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1 cup 2% milk
  • 1 oz (1 pkg) sugar-free chocolate pudding mix
  • 8 oz (1 carton) frozen fat-free whipped topping, thawed
  • 1/3 cup mini-chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Mix cake mix with buttermilk, egg and egg whites with an electric mixer. Transfer to a 9×13 inch pan, coated with cooking spray.   Bake for 25 minutes, checking often after 20 minutes,  until toothpick comes out clean. (Don’t over- bake because it will taste dry.) Remove from oven and cool.

Meanwhile, in another bowl, beat the cream cheese until fluffy. Slowly add the milk and pudding and mix until well blended. It should be thick, yet spreadable. Spread onto the cooled cake. Top with the whipped topping and sprinkle the topping with the miniature chocolate chips. Keep cake refrigerated.

*If you don’t have buttermilk on hand, you can put a tablespoon of vinegar into a liquid measuring cup and add the milk up to the 1 ¼ cup line. Mix and let it sit for 5 minutes. The mixture will thicken upon standing and act as a perfect substitute for buttermilk.

One response

Leave a Reply

